January 30, 2020




A. Call to Order

Chairman Juan Sablan called the meeting to order at 10:03am on Thursday, January 30, 2020 at the Conference Room located on the 2nd floor of the Commission's main office at the Springs Plaza in Gualo Rai, Saipan.

B. Roll Call

Commissioners present at the meeting were: Juan M. Sablan (Chairman), Joseph C. Reyes (Vice Chairman), Ramon Dela Cruz (Secretary), and via teleconference Alvaro A. Santos (Treasurer). Commissioner Diego M. Songao {Public Affairs/Media Relations) was off-island for personal reasons and was therefore excused by the Chairman.

C. Adoption of Agenda

Vice Chair Reyes noted a typographical error on page 2, VI, item C. On the third line, it is stated that the Commission received a letter from Yantze Construction informing the Commission of their withdrawal through a letter on Jan. 8, 2020. The date should instead be Jan. 6, 2020 on the agenda. The Director clarified that the vendor submitted a letter on Jan.8, 2020 referencing their Jan. 6, 2020 withdrawal request, therefore he agreed that the appropriate date should be Jan 6, 2020  on  the agenda.

Vice Chair Reyes made a motion to adopt the agenda as amended, seconded by Commissioner Dela Cruz. It was put to a vote and unanimously adopted.

D. Adoption of Minutes: December 19, 2019

Prior to the adoption of the minutes, Commissioner Dela Cruz made a technical amendment to the verbiage under V. Old Business, letter B. Rolling Chip Program. He noted that the motion was previously made by Vice Chair Reyes and seconded by Commissioner Songao. Commissioner Dela Cruz's clarified  that the verbiage of  the  motion  should be "Vice Chairman Reyes made a motion to approve IPI's request, dated November 6, 2019, to renew and extend the current VIP Cash and Complimentary Rebate Program from January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2022 (Rolling Chip Program: 1.8% plus .1% for complimentary)."

Commissioner Dela Cruz moved to adopt the necessary amendments to the minutes, seconded by Vice Chair  Reyes. The  motion was put  to  a vote and  carried.

Chairman Sablan and Vice Chair Reyes noted that they would like to hear updates from the Director on several matters raised in the December 19, 2019 minutes. The both agreed that they will wait for the Director's report to discuss them.

Commissioner Dela Cruz moved to adopt the minutes of the December 19, 2019 meeting with the amendment, seconded by Vice Chair Reyes. The motion was put to a vote and unanimously adopted.