Banner Shadow






Pursuant to the Governor's memorandum, dated March 27, 2020 (GOV20-130), the Commonwealth Casino Commission will remain closed until further notice. Should this change, a notice will be updated on this website.

For questions, concerns, and comments please email the Commonwealth Casino Commission at



March 12, 2020

The Honorable Ralph DLG. Torres


Office of the Governor

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Saipan MP  96950

Re: Commissioner’s Term Expiration


Dear Governor Torres:


Greetings from the Commonwealth Casino Commission (“Commission”)!


The past five years as a Commissioner and the Chairman has been a very challenging but fruitful experience.  I’ve always been a supporter of this industry simply because I knew the potential that it could bring in the infusion of revenue for the CNMI.  My goal since the very beginning was to ensure that the sole licensee was in compliance with P.L. 18-56 and P.L. 19-24 and other applicable laws and regulations. I am very grateful to the late Governor Eloy S. Inos for entrusting this important task to me and I am even more grateful to you for your untiring support throughout the years.

As my term comes to an end, along with my two other colleagues from Saipan, I would like to thank you for the opportunity you extended to us when you signed HB 19-95, HD1, HS1, SS1 into law, now Public Law 19-24, which allowed us an additional two years to our term and provided us the much needed tools to carry out our duties and responsibilities. I don’t think I would have been able to realize my full potential in just the four years originally provided.

Although things are not as prosperous as I hope it would be, I am proud and confident to say that we, as the first set of Commissioners, were successful in our mission given the limited amount of time we served.  However, we all know that the work is not done yet! There’s still a very rough road ahead especially with the recent Covid-19 pandemic that has affected many globally. It is for this reason and many others that I seek your assistance in immediately identifying potential candidates for our replacement. Commissioners Joseph C. Reyes, Alvaro A. Santos and myself will be exiting our role as Commissioners effective April 30, 2020.  Our departure will leave the Commission with only two members and no quorum to conduct business.  I hope that the next set of Commissioners will have been confirmed by the local delegation, sworn-in by you and on board by May 1, 2020. I also hope that the new set of members possess the same drive, enthusiasm, dedication and will power to tackle this very controversial yet beneficial industry with the public’s best interest at heart.

In addition, I want to seek your continuing support on House Bill No. 21-11, HS1 which will further improve and strengthen the Commission’s ability to effectively regulate the casino industry on Saipan.  This Bill has passed the House of Representatives on December 10, 2019 and is currently being entertained at the CNMI Senate.

In closing, I want to extend my deepest appreciation to the Commission’s staff and management and to you for all your support and assistance during our tenure, and we look forward and are excited to hear of who the new Commissioners will be.  I am available to offer any kind of support and assistance in ensuring a smooth transition for the new appointees.


Thank you.




Juan M. Sablan



cc: Hon. Lt. Governor Arnold I. Palacios

Commissioners, CCC

Edward C. Deleon Guerrero, Executive Director





For demonstrating excellence in overall work performance, promoting positive morale through a congenial supportive attitude, providing exemplary services to others, putting forth an effort to improve self and to develop and recognize others, being a role model in the delivery of essential public services to the people of the CNMI and exhibiting initiative and creativity resulting in improved operating efficiency, the Commonwealth Casino Commission recognizes the following employees:

Juanette Sablan
Human Resources Officer
Executive Division Employee of the Year
Overall CCC Employee of the Year, 2019

Donald C. Camacho
Administrative/Procurement Officer
Leadership Award, 2019

Erik Basa
Inspector I
Permit & Licensing Division Employee of the Year, 2019

Julie Omar
Senior Enforcement Agent
Enforcement & Investigations Division Employee of the Year, 2019

Arden Sablan
Compliance Agent
Compliance Division Employee of the Year, 2019

Eleuterio Palacios Jr
Senior Auditor
Audit Division Employee of the Year, 2019

Ruth Ann Sakisat
Executive Division
Employee of the Year
Overall Employee of the Year 2018

Charlie Atalig
Audit Division Manager
Leadership Award, 2018

Jolene Demapan
Audit Division
Employee of the Year, 2018

Leonard Leon
Compliance Division
Employee of the Year, 2018

Lolaine Castro
Permit & Licensing Division
Employee of the Year, 2018

Joseph Pangelinan
Enforcement & Investigations Division
Employee of the Year, 2018


Live visitors
Total Visitors

Google Analytics Stats

generated by GADWP